Does my bum look big in this?

19 May

Every time I go away on holiday my body hang-ups seem to manifest themselves ten fold. I obsess over every other female in a bikini comparing my own body size to theirs. I spent today trying to fit in as many laps in the pool as I could, thinking it might go some way to help ‘tone’ my body to look marginally similar to some of the size 8 bikini bodies I seem to be faced with everyday around the pool and on the beach. I have been left thinking that the majority of these women probably do not do anywhere near the mileage I do each and every week yet I will probably never look the way they do. Why? Genetics.

I am not afraid to admit my body insecurities, and sometimes feel if I am more open about them people might then ‘forgive’ my size. I often feel embarrassed to admit I run so much as people must think, ‘how can she she run that much and be that size.’  I know the way I am talking is as if I am a size 26, when in reality I am a size 10 -12, but in my ‘fat goggles’ I see a Hippo staring back at me.

The funny thing is, I could never eliminate food from my life to make myself look any thinner. I love food, and for me I know how important it is to fuel me on my runs. However it is important to control how much and what you eat. The heavier you are the harder it is to run.

I have been born with a ‘big frame’ something I will never be able to change. I will never have small hips, a small rib cage and a wasp like waist. That’s just not the way I have been built. Unfortunately. It doesn’t make me feel any better about myself though. I end up just staring at girls who have been blessed and wishing I looked like them. Both my sisters are two people whom have been blessed!

All I can do to ‘improve’ my body, is keep fit, stay trim and remain toned and controlling my portions. I still won’t be happy though. I think in some ways though this is often what keeps me putting my trainers on each time. If it works for me though and keeps me fit and healthy, then for now I will have to put up with it.

Staying Trim, eating thin 

There are a few things you can do though to ensure you stay trim, and many runners watch their portion sizes. Runners try to stop eating before they get too full. Runners make sure they eat slowly and pay attention to when they start to feel full.

What to Do:

Here are some tips to help you watch your portion sizes:

  • Get familiar with standard portion sizes. They may actually be smaller than you think. For example, three ounces of meat is about the size of a deck of cards. One serving size of pasta or rice is about the size of a tennis ball.
  • Eat slowly and eliminate distractions. You’re more likely to overeat if you’re not paying attention to what or how much you’re eating. Don’t eat in front of the TV or the computer. Chew slowly, you’ll enjoy your food more and eat less.
  • Try putting smaller amounts of food on your plate or using smaller plates. If you put more food in front of you, you’ll eat it because it’s there.
  • Eat your fruits and veggies first. They’re low in calories and they’ll fill you up, so you’ll be less tempted to eat more of the higher-calorie foods. For example, start your dinners with a salad and a low-calorie dressing.

All of these tips should go towards helping you stay trim, as running alone won’t work. I will keep running and trying to watch my portion sizes! And one day I’d like to look in the mirror and like the body that stares back at me.

Leave a comment