I’m Broken

5 Apr

It’s been a while! …I have been running, but not nearly as much as I would have liked. I ran for sport relief and have done some long runs most weekends but I have been suffering since I upped my mileage this year. I have ignored the pain but it has become worse. My friends have been telling me to go and see a professional but i have just shrugged it off with the theory, the pains not killing me.

It was actually my horse, (Looby Lou) who I had the fall on last year, who prompted me to go and seek a professional to help with the pain. I have increased my riding a lot this year, and have really taken a positive step forward with Looby since I have been much stronger from my fall. However she has been showing signs of pain and discomfort in her one side. I therefore immediately called out my equine Chiropractor. Looby has since been much happier and forward going. So perhaps it was time I sorted myself out too.

I have seen so many Physio’s and chiro’s and any other therapist that could have helped, but thought I’d ask around for a reccomendation. My very close running pal recommend the Chiro that i went to see and she was fanatastic. She demonstrated passion for what she was doing, expertise and she managed to give me a real confidence that she could really help me. She said I should’t just accept my pain as the norm.

Our bodies are so important to us, and I have completely neglected mine. My legs take me so far everyday, and I am feeling so guilty for not looking after it properly and seeking a professional before now. Luckily no irreparable damage has been done, but lesson has been learnt.

So appointment was just a few days ago, and i am currently feeling like I have been hit by a lorry. I was told to rest for a few days which has not been easy in the slightest. I admistteldy went to a spinning class this mroning, which was fantastic and a great work out but painful, very very painful. I just feel sore.

The chiro has also alluded me to my core, which she did say was very strong. I am so shocked at how dissapointing working the core actually is! No fireworks there.

Looking forward to next weeks appitment and being on the mend and getting some real mielage in and starting to achieve my run for 2012 challenge. I am so behind.

I have entered a Half Marathon in June and been deliberating one for April (we are already in April!!) targets to work towards anyway.

285,77 miles run to date (very behind my target… a lot of miles to make up)

1,726 miles left to run.

Leave a Reply

