Sleeping

18 Jan

Oh dear!… haven’t posted for over a week, last week I spent the majority of my time in bed sleeping/ recovering! Exhausted doesn’t even justify quite how tired I felt, I even found myself googling ‘can’t stop sleeping, what is wrong with me’.

So, by day 8 I had completed 44 miles. Well on the way to meeting my target… however destroyed all that hard work by spending it sleeping last week. To date though I have completed 67.5 miles, 1,944.5 miles left.

I aim to get back on track now though, sometimes life gets in the way and some days are much tougher than other, but you just have to keep going/ just give yourself a day off and promise to go out again the next day. I think the trouble with this challenge I have set myself is, that I have calculated I have to do a minimum of 35 miles per week in order to complete the entire 2012 miles or face having to cram a high number of miles to do towards the end of the year.

Last sunday an old running buddy whom i nickname ‘sat nav’ as she is amazing at mapping out routes and always knowing where we are whether she’s been there before or not. I’ve been known to take my friends on accidental half marathon runs by taking too many wrong turns and running in completely opposite directions to where we had parked our cars.

Anyway, ‘Sat nav‘ is back after a long injury she has been suffering with her knee, finally diagnosed as ligament damage which she is facing key hole surgery for. She wants to try to keep up her fitness levels though before the surgery so she can recover guilt free and then get back to it without too much trouble afterwards. Was so good to have her back running alongside me on sunday. A 10 miles run felt like 1 mile, we just put the world to rights and manage to completely forget we are running.

We have another Sunday run planned, hopefully she can push it and we can go a bit further and i can get some extra miles in and make up for last weeks sleeping marathon!

One Response to “Sleeping”

  1. Karen May 26, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

    Love the Sat Nav reference! I’ll be following all your blogs from now on!…and endeavouring to help you achieve your 2012 in 2012!!!

Leave a Reply

